Daniel L. Doctoroff


Notable New Yorkers 2012




On May 8, 2012, more than 150 notable New Yorkers gathered at The Skyscraper Museum to salute Daniel L. Doctoroff for his extraordinary contribution in shaping the face and future of the City of New York in the 21st-century. In this signal year of 2012, the assembled guests reflected on his extraordinary vision and accomplishments in transforming the physical city. First with New York's Olympic bid, then as Deputy Mayor for Economic Development and Rebuilding during the first six years of the Bloomberg Administration, Dan Doctoroff embraced challenges and energized the efforts to broadly plan and build a better city.

MNYH 2012


The toasts began with welcoming remarks by Director Carol Willis who described the previous renowned recipients of the Museum's Making New York History Award and introduced trustee Cathleen McGuigan, Editor-in-Chief of Architectural Record. Cathleen praised Dan's civic idealism and fierce devotion to New York and recalled interviewing him in the years before his government service when he championed the city's Olympic bid. Describing the sweeping master plan his team conceived to use the sports venues as a means of economic revitalization, Cathleen noted, "The DNA of this plan was realized in Dan's time in city government, and we are all much the richer for it."

MNYH 2012


Joining in the praise of Dan's leadership and legacy was Amanda Burden, Chair of the New York City Planning Commission, who called their work together in the Bloomberg Administration "thrilling and exhilarating." She noted that as Deputy Mayor for Economic Development and Rebuilding, Dan led the creation for "one of the greatest legacies of the Administration: PlaNYC," which coordinated the efforts across city agencies to envision a more equitable and sustainable city with a broad and long-term vision.

Dan Doctoroff responded warmly, citing the roles of many of those in attendance, including Amanda Burden, Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz, NYC Park Commissioner Adrian Benepe and DOT Commissioner Janette Sadik-Khan, former PANYNJ Executive Director Christopher Ward, as well as many architects and other professionals involved in projects under the Administration. He graciously accepted the Award, a map of the city autographed by the architects, planners, and other colleagues who had worked on projects for the City during his tenure.

MNYH 2012

Also in attendance were many colleagues from government and the development, design, and building industries.

MNYH 2012

Dan Doctoroff is the tenth recipient of the Making New York History Award, which The Skyscraper Museum established in 1999. Inspired by King's Notable New Yorkers of 1896-1899, the classic compendium of portraits of the city's most prominent professionals, this award honors outstanding individuals or buildings that have shaped the city's skyline in three dimensions or in public perceptions.



Feil Family Foundation
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Turner Construction Company
Mark & Carol Willis


Ann L. Buttenwieser
CB Richard Ellis
The Durst Organization, Inc.
Empire State Building Company LLC
Extell Development Company
Park Tower Group
Related/Oxford Hudson Yards
Silverstein Properties, Inc.
Daniel R. Tishman in honor of John L. Tishman


Betty Chen & Peter Coombe
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Eastgate Realty/120 Park Avenue Associates
Goldman, Sachs & Company
Brenda Levin
Kramer Levin
The Litwin Foundation
The McGraw-Hill Companies
NYC & Company
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects, LLP
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
STUDIOS Architecture
Vornado Realty Trust


Hilary Ballon
Arthur H. Barnes
Beyer Blinder Belle
Amanda Burden
Buro Happold
Donald Capoccia
Cushman & Wakefield, Inc.
Alexander Garvin
General Contractors Association of NY
Victoria & Lloyd Goldman
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
The Harmon Foundation
Gerald D. Hines
George S. Kaufman
L&L Holding Company, LLC
Michael Lappin
Jeffrey Levine
Moed de Armas & Shannon Architects P.C.
Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Rafael Vinoly Architects, PC
Henry B. Schacht
Sciame Construction
Silvercup Studios
Syska Hennessy Group Inc.
Lizzie & Jonathan M. Tisch Fund
Richard Tomasetti
Trinity Real Estate

The Museum also acknowledges support for the event from Adam Blumenthal, Anthony Borelli, John Cetra, Abby Joseph Cohen, Joan K. Davidson, Craig Dykers, Bruce Fowle, Francis Greenburger, Jerry Gottesman, Brandon Haw, Meredith Kane, Charles Laven, Maurice Lefkort, Nicholas Lembo, George E. Leventis, Marc Ricks, Rob Rogers, Lynne B. Sagalyn, Tara I. Stacom, Robert Strang, STV Inc., Diana L. Taylor, Christopher Ward, Thornton Tomasetti, Trinity Real Estate, Spectacular Ventures, Brooklyn Navy Yard Development, Cesar Pelli, Haks Group, Tishman Construction Corporation, The Community Preservation Corporation, WSP Cantor Seinuk, Battery Park City Authority, Andrew Moss, Maggi Sedlis Goldstein, Don Lebowitz & Claudia Wagner, Louis Skidmore, Carl Weisbrod, Morphosis, Eric Deutsch, Beverly Willis, Ken and Ronnie Lowenstein