The Empire State Building & Anthony E. Malkin

Banner MNYH 2010

Notable New Yorkers 2010


honoring The Empire State Building & Anthony E. Malkin

Tuesday, May 25, 2010
6:00 - 8:00 PM

On May 25, 2010 guests attended a festive cocktail party to salute New York's signature skyscraper, The Empire State Building, which received the Museum's 2010 Making New York History Award in honor of--in the tower's 79th year--the glorious restoration of its original Art Deco lobby and the beginning of a transformative "green" rejuvenation. Anthony Malkin, President of Malkin Holdings LLC and its affiliates Malkin Properties and W&H Properties accepted the award in the company of more than a hundred guests.

Museum Director Carol Willis began the toasts with an account of the Museum's special attachment to the Empire State Building, which includes its celebration of the tower's design and construction in its 1998 book and exhibition "Building the Empire State." She noted that while "any year is is the right time to honor New York's greatest skyscraper, the past year has been one of the tower's greatest, thanks to the leadership of Tony Malkin." His outstanding accomplishments encompass the oversight of the meticulous re-creation of the Art Deco lobby, honoring the building's past, and the commitment to the re-invention of the tower's identity as an energy-efficient, 21st-century landmark.
MNYH 2010
Saluting Tony's role as a steward of the Empire Stare Building's history was NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Chairman Robert Tierney, who praised his commitment to quality and clear passion for restoring the tower's authentic Art Deco materials and decoration. Adding to the praise was Deputy Mayor Robert Lieber, who emphasized Tony's remarkable vision and dedication to the project of "greening" of the skyscraper on a grand scale and of creating a replicable model for the industry at large.

Accepting the award, Tony Malkin spoke of his family's commitment to the Empire State ReBuilding project, which represents a $550 million commitment. The work is being accomplished with partners, the Clinton Climate Initiative, Johnson Controls, Jones Lang LaSalle, and the Rocky Mountain Institute, he continues to transform the Empire State Building into a 21st-century leader in environmental awareness and energy efficiency.



CB Richard Ellis
Feil Family Foundation
Hugh L. Carey Battery Park City Authority
Newmark Knight Frank
Otis Elevator Company
Tishman Construction Corporation
Mark & Carol Willis


Ann L. Buttenwieser
Cyruli Shanks Hart & Zizmor LLP
Silverstein Properties, Inc.


Advent Industrial Corporation
BLDG Management Co., Inc.
Goldman Sachs
Jaros Baum & Bolles
Jones Lang LaSalle
Brenda Levin
The Litwin Foundation
Skanska USA


Hilary Ballon
Richard W. Eaddy
A. Estéban & Company
Betsy & Jesse Fink Fund
Andrew Goldberg
Greenberg Traurig
Heartland Brewery
Mariana & George Kaufman
Loews Hotels
MCEnergy, Inc.
Mr. & Mrs. Lester S. Morse, Jr.
Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Howard E. Peskoe
Stern Tannenbaum & Bell LLP

The Museum also acknowledges the support for the event from Schindler Elevator Corporation; Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel; Arup; Sciame Construction; Andrews International; Alfred C. Cerullo, III, Grand Central Partnership; Richard Metsky, Beyer Blinder Belle; Gerard Geier, FXFowle; Elizabeth Berger, Downtown Alliance; Nick Lembo, Monadnock; Richard Zottola, LERA; Mufson Partnership; Jennifer Busch, Allan Uniform Rental Service; Eve Klein, Duane Morris; David Tannenbaum, Stern Tannenbaum & Bell LLP; Joel Bluestein; Kathryn Wylde, NYC Partnership Fund; James F. Capalino, Capalino & Co.; Michael Lappin, Community Preservation Corporation ; Ken Drucker, HOK; Christine Flaherty, STV; Ken and Ronnie Lowenstein; Thomas Keltner, Jr. Malkin Holdings, LLC.; Jonathan Garrity, Cambridge Hanover; Kenneth Miller, Edison Properties; Phil O'Donnell, Phillips; David R. Jones, Community Service Society of NY; David Bleckner, Empire State Building ; Frank Lombardi, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; Jeffrey Levine, Douglaston Development LLC; Owen Gutfreund; Maggi Sedlis Goldstein; David Grant, LVM Group; The Stewart and Constance Greenfield Foundation; Eugene and Emily Grant Foundation; Louis H. Skidmore, Jr.; Donald Gordon, The Kandell Fund; Daniel Nissenbaum.