Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, its Chairman Anthony R. Coscia and Executive Director Christopher O. Ward


Notable New Yorkers 2009


honoring Port Authority of New York and New Jersey,
its Chairman ANTHONY R. COSCIA and Executive Director CHRISTOPHER O. WARD

On Tuesday, June 17, The Skyscraper Museum recognized The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, its Chairman Anthony R. Coscia, and Executive Director Christopher O. Ward with the 2008 Making New York History Award. Hosted in the Museum's Battery Park City gallery, the 175 assembled guests were able to tour the current exhibition, New York Modern, as they celebrated one of New York's most influential institutions. The PANYNJ is the sixth recipient of the award, which The Skyscraper Museum established in 1999 to honor outstanding individuals who have shaped the city's skyline in three dimensions or in public perceptions.

Museum Director Carol Willis welcomed the assembled guests and cited the Port Authority's eight-decade history and many contributions to the urban fabric and infrastructure of the two states.

Distinguished guests offered toasts recognizing the PANYNJ's commitment to the city of New York. Robert Lieber, Deputy Mayor of Economic Development congratulated Mr. Coscia and Mr. Ward for their leadership and said he looked forward to the ambitious agenda that awaits their collaboration.

Left to right: Leslie E. Robertson, structural engineer; Robert Lieber, Deputy Mayor of Economic Development; Anthony Coscia, PANYNJ Chairman; Carol Willis, Director; Christopher Ward, PANYNJ Executive Director; Jed Marcus, Principal Attorney of Marcus Attorneys and Chair of the Board at The Skyscraper Museum

Structural engineer Leslie E. Robertson spoke of his experience as a young man working with the Port Authority on the original World Trade Center. Noting the presence of Guy Tozzoli, an engineer at the PANYNJ, Robertson recalled that "it was a young man's project," and that the Port Authority has remained a wonderful organization since that first encounter.

David M. Childs, Consulting Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill and architect of 7WTC and Freedom Tower, spoke of the constant presence of the institution in the daily life of the city and that the level of endorsement from several diverse sectors of NYC is testament to its success in garnering support.

James Sanders, architect, author, and co-writer with Ric Burns, "New York: A Documentary," noted the unique historical role of the Port Authority and its innovative approach to shaping the city. "The Port is an extraordinary entity. Truly, the whole concept of what an urban region can be would not be the same without this institution."

Since its establishment in 1921, the Port Authority has been indispensable to the city's growth and future and that tradition continues with the Port's expansive initiatives throughout the region and the vital rebuilding of the World Trade Center site. Willis bestowed the awards to Mr. Coscia and Mr. Ward, announcing, "We're confident that 87-years later, the legacy of the leadership of the Port Authority is in good hands."

Museum Director Carol Willis also thanked JetBlue Airways for providing four pairs of round-trip tickets to any non-stop destination in the continental US as a door prize. Willis cited the airline's notable New York affiliation: "In particular, thank you even more to JetBlue for the superb restoration of the Eero Saarinen TWA Terminal at JFK, under the leadership of the Port Authority."

Left to right: Carol Willis, Director; Susan Kaplan, Director of Sustainable Development for the BPCA; James Cavanaugh, President & CEO of the BPCA

Also in attendance were Jim Cavanaugh, President of the Battery Park City Authority, David Burney, Commissioner of the Department of Design and Construction, and other public officials.



Hugh L. Carey Battery Park City Authority
Jones Lang LaSalle
Silverstein Properties
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Tishman Construction Corporation
Tishman Speyer


Ann L. Buttenweiser
CB Richard Ellis
Costas Kondylis & Partners LLP Architects
DCM Erectors, Inc.
Related Companies, LLP
Vornado Realty Trust


Adamson Associates Architects
ASM Mechanical Systems
Bovis Lend Lease
Corporate Services and Real Estate Division, Goldman Sachs
F.J. Sciame Construction, Inc.
Jaros, Baum & Bolles
JCDecaux North America
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Mancini · Duffy
Newmark Knight Frank
Rael Automatic Sprinkler Company, Inc.
Schindler Elevator Corporation
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Studio Daniel Liebeskind
Swig Equitites, LLC
Thyssenkrupp Elevator
Turner Construction Company
Van Deusen & Associates (vda)
Weidlinger Associates, Inc.
WSP Cantor Seinuk


Hilary Ballon
Boston Properties
Deutsche Bank
Don Capoccia
Downtown-Lower Manhattan Association
FXFOWLE Architects, PC
General Contractors Association of NY
HR & A
George and Mariana Kaufman
Keefe Bruyette & Woods
Brenda Levin
The Litwin Foundation
Loews Hotels
Marcus Attorneys
Navillus Contracting
Owen Steel Company Inc.
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Rubenstein Associates
Skanska USA Building Inc.
Thornton Tomasetti
Voorsanger Architects

JetBlue Airways generously donated (4) pairs of round-trip tickets to the June 17, 2008 event.